RSS

Daily Archives: November 28, 2011

Grapes & Bamboo – A nice place with “nice” manager and staff and “perfect” discount method

Address:

SD2 – 1 Nguyễn Đức Cảnh Steet, Mỹ Phúc, Phú Mỹ Hưng, Distict 7

I knew Grapes & Bamboo restaurant by accident. One day when I had breakfast with my friends, I saw a nice French restaurant nearby. I came and had a look. The manager came out and greeted me warmly. She also gave me a 10% discount card. Therefore, I had quite a positive impression for the place.

The next day, I decided to dine out there with my boyfriend. I thought it would be a romantic dinner of us but it turned out to be disappointment instead.

Guess what? Nothing went wrong with the food and the drinks. They were perfect indeed. However, when in the end it was a disaster.

As I had a 10% discount card that the manager gave me the previous day. I thought we could have a discount for our first time dined here. Usually, at other places, they would have brought the bill to us and asked us whether we had any discount card or VIP card or not in order to give us a discount on the total payment. As a result, we waited for the bill to come.

WHEN THE BILL CAME OUT, I SAID I HAD A DISCOUNT CARD AND WHETHER I COULD APPLY IT OR NOT. HOWEVER, THE WAITER SAID THAT WE COULD NOT BECAUSE THE BILL ALREADY CAME OUT. He explained that the cashier here was different from the other places and we should have given him the discount card first then we could have a discount. I thought it was non-sense; therefore, I asked for the manger that gave us the discount card. This was when the argument happened.

In fact, I asked her gently and politely. However, SHE ACTED LIKE I AM IN NEED OF A DISCOUNT. SHE SAID TO MY FACE THAT ‘WITHOUT THE DISCOUNT, DON’T YOU HAVE THE MONEY TO PAY FOR THE BILL?’ I could not understand what kind of restaurant that would treat its customers like that. SHE EVEN USED SLANG AND UNEDUCATED WORDS TO TALK TO ME!!! SHE EVEN TOLD ME NOT TO COME BACK TO HER RESTAURANT. She acted rudely and mocked me in front of the people there. How embarrassed I was in that situation! IT WAS JUST UNBELIEVABLE and SHOCKING!!!

At last, in disappointment, we paid for the bill (with the tip, because we were not that poor that I could not pay for our bill) and we left. My boyfriend was not happy and me neither. At that time, all I wanted was to write a negative article about this restaurant but I did not have a chance. Now it’s my time to tell you that IF YOU WANT TO COME THERE, PREPARE YOURSELF because you will never know what will happen!!!

(Reported and edited by What The Food team)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2011 in Not Recommended Places

 

Red Café

 

Decoration and furniture at Red café are sophisticatedly designed and arranged, which come consistent with its Arabian style

Address:  118/30 Tran Quang Dieu, ward 14, District 3

Style:  Café, Middle East

Price: 25,000-45,000 VND

Special thing: Violin & guitar live performance every Saturdays

Description

Not easy to be found, Red café is like a beautiful but shy Middle East girl in veil with sparkling jewelry who stays quiet with a fire passion inside and waits to be found.

The space behind the door seems tinged stillness, sounds soft music and reveals many small nooks inside. Decoration and furniture at Red café are sophisticatedly designed and arranged, which come consistent with its Arabian style. However, visitors can actually recognize the blended style of East & West, not entirely pure Middle East here. There is a bit stylized – rock hiding corners in the traditional pattern Henna art of India. If you met the owner – a Henna lover, then you would understand how the idea of ​​custom design is originated from.

Country music is played as the key music selection at Red Café. Moreover, Red café’s staff who are in red and black uniform are very helpful usually show their willingness to serve and help their customers.

Red Café takes Henna art of India style for its decoration

(Reported and edited by What The Food team)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 28, 2011 in Coffee Shop Review